5 tips for not turning into a winter blob

raisehandRaise your hand if the last thing you want to do is work out this winter.

I do realize it is March but here in NYC, we are *still* in the dead of winter and I don’t know about you, but it is leaving me feeling quite lifeless. It is such a chore to drag myself to the gym or to Pilates class or to a dance class. Once I’m there, I always get into moving my body and exercising but getting there has been the hardest part.

I think I have found my winter tricks to remain active and strong while we all wait for that burst of energy and sun this spring.  This is what I’ve been doing and am sharing with you as my top 5 tips for not turning into a winter blob:

1. Schedule yourself.

Instead of flying by the seat of my pants, I’ve been looking at my calendar every Sunday and scheduling workouts.  I have been putting these workouts in my Google Calendar and have set it to remind me 24 hours in advance and again a few hours in advance.  Making movement a part of my schedule–as opposed to vaguely planning for a few days during the week–has really helped me keep my commitment.

2. Sign up for classes or make appointments that have a 24-hour cancellation policy.  

In order not to lose money, I definitely show up for a session even when winter hibernation is calling my name. Signing up ahead of time is making a tangible commitment that I find easier to stick to.

3. Commit to a series of classes.  

I just finished up a 6-week Dance class series and found it SO beneficial to sign up for a program that was on-going, built on each week, and was a pre-paid commitment making me more accountable.

4. Have an accountability partner.

This happened via text message just last Friday (a day I had scheduled to workout at my local YMCA in the evening),

Me: “I don’t want to work out, I don’t want to work out, I don’t want to work out.”

My bestfriend and accountability partner: “Just doooooooo ittttttt.”

So I did.  And it was one of the best workouts of the week and really started my weekend off right.  Therefore talk to a friend and ask him/her to help hold you accountable.  Even that silly and casual text exchange put enough fire under my ass to get to the gym and I’m so thankful for it.

5. Go on vacation
I definitely know this isn’t possible for everyone.  However, I recently went away to Barbados with my boyfriend and found it to be SO beneficial and rejuvenating for my body.  I surfed every day, rested a great deal, and came back stronger and more energized. Ever since that experience, it has been SO CLEAR just how much stillness and rest throughout my day-to-day life really does help me move and accomplish more without feeling drained.  Therefore, even if we can’t always plan a tropical vacation, I think that taking moments to rejuvenate and to succumb to that natural winter hibernation mode is important and healthy.  Whether or not it’s a massage, an afternoon at a spa or Turkish Baths, or 30-minutes reading a magazine or novel, taking some time to be still is vital and will help rejuvenate you throughout the remainder of winter.

Good luck, and keep a look out for more tips once spring finally gets here!

 

This entry was posted in Healthy Tips and Articles, Tips and Articles and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

